I Hate Myself

How do you respond to a child saying they hate themselves?  It’s an awfully strong word. We were all silently shocked. Certainly there are still times I hate myself.

I hate myself for being human

when I lust, wish, dream about another

Ah that’s my mother!

I hate myself for being bold

I was told

I was to be seen but not heard

I hate myself for being fat

Huh? What, but you are not…fat.

Again my mother!

I hate myself for letting another decide for me

I was taught to not trust myself

Wait a minute, but who knows me better than myself

No one is inside my shell

No one hears my voice

No one knows me this well

I hate myself for not being perfect and for making mistakes

I was taught mistakes are bad-never to be made

Perfection that was the goal, if you wanted to go to heaven

My head hangs low, I will never meet that goal, never go

I hate myself for being me

I’m too caring, sensitive, moody, fidgety, talkative

Whatever it is about me that you don’t like, is what I hate the most

Please just love me, accept me, want me

I will do whatever you ask

My child inside begs

Who is he this child who says boldly in front of everybody that he hates himself?

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment.

