I Understand Why You Are So Angry

Do you think I’m a violent person?

No, I don’t think you’re a violent person, but you believe you are.  So much of what we think we believe becomes true (even if it’s a lie).

Violence stems from anger. To witness such anger in one so young tells me the road traveled has been tough.  Maybe violence is what you’ve learned and all you know.

You’re just sensitive.  (Getting angry)  No I’m not!

Looking now at the other girl across the room.  Taller, prettier, more popular, smarter…I hate her.  (Focused now on the lies that you are telling yourself, so far from the truth.)

Being sensitive is a human trait; an important/vital quality.  A good quality…not one to be shunned or seen as weakness.

I wish I had been able to say today that it’s not sensitivity or violence, but passion that drives you.  You are good, you have so much potential, you can accomplish things you’ve never even dreamed of yet.

I wish I could explain that our past creates who we are today.  It drives our actions, thoughts, decisions, our very lives.  If we are unable to step aside and see the truth, we will believe the lies we’ve been told, as truths.

Here’s who I see when I look at you.

A strong, passionate, driving force, that channeled properly can accomplish anything.  But you must be careful, or you will easily become lost in the lies.

You must learn who you are by seeking the truth, by finding your path.  I will pray for you to find your path.  I will guide you as much as humanly possible.  I thank you for trusting me enough to talk to me.  I wish that we could talk more.  In this writing, I extend my HOPE, my faith, my strength.

Thank you for trying, and caring.  Keep working and moving forward.  I know you can do this.  I understand where you are but I see where you can go.

Dear Lord please bless this child who has crossed my path.  Guide them, hold them when they need you most.  Never leave them, as they will eventually accomplish great things for you.  Amen.

 

Two Wolves-A Cherokee Parable

An old Cherokee chief was teaching his grandson about life…

“A fight is going on inside me,” he said to the boy.
“It is a terrible fight and it is between two wolves.

“One is evil – he is anger, envy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority, self-doubt, and ego.

“The other is good – he is joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion, and faith.

“This same fight is going on inside you – and inside every other person, too.”

The grandson thought about it for a minute and then asked his grandfather,
“Which wolf will win?”

The old chief simply replied,
“The one you feed.”

 

Author Unknown
(possibly a Cherokee parable, and going back probably at least to the 1950’s in print – but unconfirmable

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment.

